DIY Hilarious Fail

Pinterest DIY looks so tantalizing and simple. In your own home, away from the perfectly staged online pictures, DIY can be a quite opposite experience. If you are looking for a Martha Stewart Pinterest-worthy DIY episode, move along dear heart.

First, let’s set the scene. My husband and I were hustling to prepare our Dallas-area Condo to become our rental property prior to our move in June. A big project was our small kitchen. We had already replaced the hideous fluorescent light fixture, and the 1980’s kitchen faucet, microwave, and fridge. Never bothering with the cream laminate countertops and stark white walls, they desperately needed to be bothered with now.

One of my closest girlfriends came in our time of need to join me in a “DIY Adventure”, the kitchen refresh. It quickly spiraled into an “I Love Lucy” sketch. She interviewed me afterwards to recount our DIY Hilarious Fail — video below.

There are 2 products I comically review in this video: Peel and Stick Wallpaper (purchased at Target), and Behr Premium Plus Paint (purchased at Home Depot).

This is unedited and a low-budget shoot (she uses a paint roller as a microphone.) It adds to the raw emotion of the DIY misadventure. The last 8 seconds kill me. I hope that this will bring you a much-needed laugh too, as we all really need one after the tragedies of last week.

What DIY fails have you had? Share them with me – leave a comment.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

