A Sketch of my Lifelong Companion: Happy Birthday Hubby!

A spouse, a lifelong companion and path to holiness, is not something stumbled upon. It is a hard won quest for unconditional love, and once discovered, it becomes the work of a lifetime to nurture and grow with each other.

We certainly aren’t perfect, as like every couple we have our challenges; but, I have never encountered another heart filled with such a deep love and a desire to do good for God, Our Lady, family, friends, and me – as humbling as that is. I am a better version of myself today because of you, and even amidst the moments where the dying-to-selves part of life may become palpable, always know that I am thankful for the gift that I, and many people for many years, prayed for — YOU.

So, in honor of your 40-something Birthday today, drumroll please… a poem for my beloved husband.

A Sketch of my Lifelong Companion

As I am pensive, he is dreaming.

As I am eager, he is enduring.

As I am consumed, he is consuming.

As I am riotous, he is calming.

As I am solid, he is bending.

As I am abrupt, he is deliberating.

As I am spicy, he is moderating.

As I am strategic, he is improvising.

As I am trustful, he is protecting.

As I am witty, he is conjoining.

As I am sentimental, he is romanticizing.

As I am cheerful, he is reveling.

As I am creating, he is supporting.

As I am beloved, he is loving.

As I am blessed, he is blessing.

©Lisa Martinez, August 13, 2015

 

A little photo montage of our earlier days, moments where you found your way deeper into my heart…

Mike + Lisa CanoingTiger Stadium DetroitRose Mike LisaBack CameraBack CameraIMG_2060Mike + Lisa Kissing at SunsetMike + Lopez'sMike Lisa + San ParentsProposalMike + AnnaIMG_3418IMG_4850Mike + TimIMG_4036IMG_4055IMG_4103211437IMG_4472IMG_4009IMG_5076Love One Another

 

 

Leave a Reply

