Advent Meditation

Patience quotes

As we begin our Advent journey, this is the message I have been given to meditate upon.

“Patience with others is LOVE. Patience with self is HOPE. Patience with God is FAITH.” – Adel Bestavros

Ever since I was a little version of myself, I have thought, acted, and spoke quickly. Mover and a shaker – I’ve been called that a time or two. It’s how I was created to be, to get things done. But it can flip to become my biggest weakness – impatient!

One is the lessons that is still the hardest for me to embrace is staying still, quiet — not acting – and simply being patient.

Maturity in life and in our spiritual journeys demands patience. The majority of life happens in the “waiting” and if we are always trying to rush through it, then we will miss out on much of the golden nuggets buried in life.

I am preaching to myself right now, but I pray that this will bless another soul too.

My husband and I have been in a time of deep discernment about many big life things. While my natural tendency is to “Haste, haste”, I know that the Lord is slowly unveiling His plan as He moves each little piece of His Will bit-by-bit into place.

If you share my tendency to hustle, I’d invite you to sit with this meditation for some quiet time as well. See what wisdom it wants to speak to your heart during this Advent season, as we wait and yearn for the birth of our King. This season of waiting has been given to us a gift, not as a punishment. We are to prepare our hearts, not just our shopping lists!

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Advent Meditation

  1. Norma Hall says:

    Thank you Lisa. You continue to touch my heart with your writings. I will be using this one during prayer time. Much meaning in the message.

    Blessings,

    Norma

    Like

    • Lisa says:

      Sweet, Norma – thanks for your message. What a blessing it is to bless another 🙂 Prayers for you and your dear Hubby in this Advent season!
      Love,
      Lisa

      Like

Leave a Reply

