Allergies & Best Gluten Free Oatmeal Cookies

gluten-free-oatmeal-cookies

My husband and I try to eat healthy, but we’re definitely not all gung-ho gluten free. I must admit I’ve had a long-standing love affair with nearly all things “bread”, and particularly pizza. Next week I have to go for 3 days of allergy testing (insert head slump here). I must admit that my fear, despite everything that could show up in the results, is that my allergies will include gluten, wheat, and dairy. I know that  a lot of people have it (including some dear friends), and that they learn to manage it, and there are many great recipes and dishes, and so on and so forth.

There will be wailing and gnashing of teeth if my Dr. says bread and cheese are off the Lisa-friendly list of foods. #justsayin #sorryinadvance

Ok, I just had to get that out, thanks.

My Dad’s side of the family is riddled with allergies. I have had allergy & asthma issues probably all of my life, but I have never managed them well. Finally sick and tired (literally) of feeling so bad day-in-and-day-out, and having developed skin allergies last year, I made an appointment with an Allergist in July. During our first meeting he said,

Your allergies aren’t bad. They are HORRIBLE!

“Well, that’s why I’m here, Doc!” I thought to myself.

So, the next step in this process is allergy testing. My Doctor likes the more reliable old-school skin-prick test. Oh boy, this will be three days of fun that launch into a series of life changes, I’m sure. But if feeling better is the result, then it’s time for a change.

So, in honor of what may or may not be gluten-free days ahead, I found this recipe on my bag o’ Rolled Oats this morning, and thought, “What the heck, let’s give it a go.” Also, as we usher in the fall season (although it doesn’t feel like that in Dallas yet), baking Oatmeal Cookies just feels natural.

I’m glad I did – gluten free or not, I would not only eat these cookies, but gift them! My picky husband loved them too – and didn’t believe that they were gluten free. The peanut butter, walnuts, oats, and chocolate chips are such a well-balanced blend.

As my Mom taught me, pull your eggs and butter out of the fridge first a bit before you back so that they temp out.

Enjoy these delicious (and more nutritious) gluten free cookies!

 

Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Oatmeal Cookies

Yields: Approx 48 cookies (depending on thickness)

Ingredients

1/4 c. butter

1 1/4 tsp. baking soda

3/4 c. sugar (I used “Sugar in the Raw”)

3 c. Trader Joe’s Rolled Oats

3/4 c. brown sugar

6 oz. chocolate chips

2 eggs

1/2 c. sunflower seeds or chopped walnuts (I used walnuts)

1 tsp. vanilla

1 c. peanut butter (I used natural honey peanut butter)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. 
  2. In a large bowl, combine sugar, brown sugar and butter and beat until creamy.
  3. Add eggs, vanilla and baking soda and mix well.
  4. Add peanut butter and mix.
  5. Stir in oats, chocolate chips and nuts.
  6. Place teaspoon full of dough on a lightly greased cookie sheet about 2″ apart.
  7. Bake 10-12 minutes until lightly brown around edges.
Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

