Celebrating Birthdays in Heaven?

My Mom would have been 67 today. I’m sure her sunny Florida day would’ve involved something kind of like this, with her delicious frozen Margaritas, going to dinner with my Dad and their retired pals.

frozen margaritas

lady lake floridaThis is Mom’s 3rd birthday in Heaven, which has me pondering, “Do they celebrate birthdays in Heaven?”

Hmmm….I can’t quite wrap my mind around it, because it’s Heaven and well, I’m not there (yet!). I mean if you’re in Heaven, you’re infinitely joyful and there are only memories of your time on Earth, right? Standing in the Beatific Vision, seriously, would it even occur to you to celebrate something from another lifetime?

Perhaps they celebrate their birth into new life, into Heaven? In which case, that’s only 2 days away for my Mom…

At any rate, I’m going to do my very best this week to try and celebrate the life we shared with Mom. I’ve made a few plans with friends to keep people close to me who know and love me. I also have some professional development seminars that we’ll be attending, and I’m sure they’ll keep my brain active and occupied. Three years later, the emotions and that missing ache are still real, but so is the love and gratitude for a life well lived.

Do you think they celebrate birthdays in heaven? Let me know what you think…

Leave a Reply

