Healthier Zucchini Bread

I remember as a little girl the sweet smell of my Mom’s Zucchini Bread wafting throughout the house.  It was a moist, delicious and best of all Chocolate Zucchini Bread that was one of her specialties.  As you can imagine, that also means high in calories. Just 1 slice of Zucchini bread, not even Mom’s chocolate goodness, can be over 300 calories.  Ouch!

Using the standard ingredients of (white) flour, sugar, walnuts, cinnamon, salt, baking powder, eggs, oil, sour cream, and zucchini, here is what one recipe equals:

Per Serving:

Calories:  306

Fat:  16.75 g

Cholesterol: 34.5 mg

Percent calories from fat: 49

Mother Earth Zucchini BreadI can’t even remember where I got this recipe, but it’s called Mother Earth Zucchini Bread.  Using healthy substitutions like 1/2 white & 1/2 whole wheat flour, egg whites, applesauce, and buttermilk, here’s the new nutritional info:

Per Serving:

Calories:  157

Fat:  2.17g

Cholesterol: Trace

Percent calories from fat: 12

WOW!  A trace of cholesterol?  About half the calories?  And less then a 1/4 of the fat!

And believe me, that it if my husband says, “In fact it is so good, I want another piece!” we’ve got a keeper! This is not a really sweet bread – which I like – and not dried out either.  Love the bit of crunch of the Walnuts too.

Here’s the recipe:

Mother Earth Zucchini Bread

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/2 cups white flour

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

6 egg whites

1 cup applesauce

1/2 cup buttermilk

2 1/2 c grated zucchini

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Spray a Bundt or Tube Pan (I used loaf pans) with vegetable oil cooking spray.

In a large bowl, mix all dry ingredients.

Dry Ingredients 

In a separate bowl, combine egg whites, applesauce and buttermilk.

The wet ingredients

Mix in the grated zucchini with the wet ingredients next.

The wet ingredients

Then combine the wet and dry ingredients together.

Combine wet & dry ingredients

I like to stir the nuts in last.

Stir in chopped walnuts

Pour into the greased pan(s).  Bake at 45 minutes to an hour.  Serve warm or cold!

Zucchini Bread

1 recipe made these 2 loaf pans (Stoneware and Silicon bakeware) – remember to fill only about 1/2 full with batter.

Now pour a glass of milk, cut a slice, and enjoy this healthier version of Zucchini Bread!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Healthier Zucchini Bread

  1. Mel says:

    How many servings in this recipe?

    Like

  2. Jeanne says:

    Can’t wait to try it. Mike’s two thumbs up makes me excited to start baking. But… I want your mum’s recipe too! That sounds ah-mazing. I could eat it on Sunday and start my diet on Monday! Lol

    Like

    • Lisa says:

      Too funny, Jeanne! I need to find/get my Mom’s recipe – but will be happy to share when I do 🙂 Enjoy it – in your new kitchen!!

      Like

  3. Aunt Sue says:

    How appropriate that you share a recipe now and then! Your mom would be proud. How I miss her. Love to you and Mike.

    Like

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks, Aunt Sue. I would have a ton more recipes on here if Mom was able to still rifle them off on the phone and email them to me, LOL. Miss her lots too. We send our love back to you the family, and miss y’all too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

