To Trust or not to Trust

The past couple of weeks have been presenting a number of situations, both at work and at home, with friends or personally, that all really boils down to one thing: TRUST.  Trust is a big action packed into a little word.

According to my Strengths Finder 2.0 assessment results (a great resource, I might add), my #1 strength is that I am strategic. So, if you are anything like me, you make a plan and then go from there.  Plans are useful, good, help us achieve goals, and allow us to measure progress.  But the flip side of is that sometimes I can place my confidence in the plan and not in the big Planner, God. There are many things in life that we just can’t plan for or aren’t prepared for — that’s where trust comes in. Trust Jesus

I went back to one of my favorite spiritual reads this afternoon, “He and I“. The book is a compilation of the writings of Gabrielle Bossis, a single French actress, and a beautiful dialog between her and the Lord. This is one of the things He said to her about trust:

“Awaken your trust in My omnipotence.  This is what honors Me.  It can change the face of the earth when it is matched with the feeling of your nothingness.  Remember the centurion.”

The centurion He was referring to is from Luke, chapter 7.  The centurion’s servant was deathly ill, so he sent some of the elders of the Jews to ask Jesus to come and heal this man.  Moved by this, Jesus went with them.

Something changed for the centurion, though, for as they drew nearer. He sent friends with another message:  “Lord, do not trouble yourself, for I am not worthy to have you come under my roof.  Therefore I did not presume to come to you. But say the word, and let my servant be healed.  For I too am a man set under authority, with soldiers under me: and I say to one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and to another, ‘Come,’ and he comes; and to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”

And then comes the really good part.  The scripture says that upon hearing that, “Jesus marveled at him.”  I love to imagine saying something to the Lord that would fill him with such wonder — so much so, that he said to the crowd, “I tell you, not even in Israel have I found such faith.”

When they returned to the house, they found the servant had been healed.

The centurion had a plan: Get Jesus to come and heal my servant.  As his plan started to unfold, and he became more and more aware of his unworthiness, he laid it out before Jesus.

And the Lord honored that.

And He still honors that today, when we say those same words at the Mass before we receive Him in Communion.  Help our trust be bigger than our plans, Lord.  Amen!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “To Trust or not to Trust

  1. Mandy says:

    These are some beautiful words, Lisa! Mark and I are in a season of trust, big time:) I enjoyed reading your blog.

    Like

    • Lisa says:

      Thank you, Mandy! I had read that on your blog, and have been keeping y’all in prayer. Your transparency on your blog is so real, raw, refreshing – I can relate to you a lot. Prayer for His will, and your peace with it, my friend!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

