Totties for Two

It’s that time of year when something is always “going around”.  Not feeling well either?  Perhaps you should try a Hot Tottie!  It’s soothing, natural, and doesn’t taste too bad either.

Hot Tottie ingredients

Totties for Two

My Grandma is so big into home remedies, and since I’m supposed to be playing guitar and singing at a retreat tomorrow, I figured that last night was the opportune time to try “Totties for Two”.  I adapted a couple recipes I found to what we had on hand/prefer – so feel free to leave comments with your feedback.  Honestly, I’ve neither tasted nor made a Tottie myself – so I can’t tell you how it measures up.  I have left some tips below.  But I will tell you that after tipping a Tottie last night, I slept more soundly then I have all week.  And when I awoke, I was skipping around like a wee sprite, the junk in my chest had loosened up a bit more and my throat wasn’t sore as it has been the other 4 mornings this week.  What does this mean?  I am a Tottie advocate at this point – yes, Pro Tottie and unashamed.  Your tired eyes and wheezing chest are likely skimming these lines for something of value now, so I will now just provide the recipe…

Hot Totties

Servings: 2 large servings

1 1/2 cup water

1 cup Lemon Juice (fresh or bottled)

1 1/2 cup Whiskey (we used Jack Daniels)

1 cup Honey

3 Cinnamon Sticks  (4 cloves were also recommended)

2 slices fresh Lemon (optional)

Directions:

  1. First put the water, lemon juice and Whiskey into a medium saucepan.
  2. Be sure that the mixture has heated up before you add the honey. It can be at a gentle boil, but be sure to turn the heat down as you gradually add the honey – so a little at a time. Stir constantly during this step, or your pot will boil over!
  3. Next, add the whole cinnamon sticks (or cloves) into the mixture, and bring to a boil again. Again, be sure to stir!
  4. Reduce heat and allow the mixture to simmer for 20 minutes.
  5. Add a lemon slice in each mug and serve.
Natural, soothing remedy for Cold + Flu

Natural, soothing remedy for Cold + Flu

Now it’s ready!  Enjoy and feel better
I adapted my remedy from this recipe that came from the UK — you can read more here: http://www.food.com/recipe/dr-pats-hot-toddy-cold-remedy-234344#ixzz1pFUou6Lj.  I prefer my Americanized spelling of Tottie though, as you can see.

TIPS

This is my modified version of a couple recipes I found online.  I tried it last night with different measurements, and we ended up adding a bit more water after it was done:  I had used only 1 cup of water and 1 cup of honey, and it had a strong and boldly sweet taste, followed by slightly tart lemon and “spicy” cinnamon aftertaste.  So in the recipe I listed here,  I have added more water and less honey to cut some of that sweetness.  Even so – make it according to your individual taste – add more honey, Whiskey, or water. You can start with the suggested recipe and then modify it as you wish.   My original recipe filled about 2 ½ large mugs for my hubby and I, using only 1 cup of water.

You can juice fresh lemons if you have them, but I used the lemon juice in the bottle for this – as the 4 small lemons we had weren’t going to cut it.  We just added the fresh lemon wedges.

If you make this for a little one, of course omit the Whiskey from the recipe. My husband makes fabulous fresh Cinnamon Tea, just with mainly those ingredients – very yummy and soothing!

There are versions you can find online where they do this quickly in the microwave.  We mainly utilize the stovetop at home, and liked the idea of all these ingredients really activating and blending as they simmered.

May you find comfort in this “Totties for Two” recipe AND combat those pesky cold and flu symptoms at the same time!  Please excuse any typos — I need another Tottie!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

