Bless my Ride!

What a beating this month has brought upon our two cars!  Still, in each instance, it could have been so much worse.  I am grateful that God is looking after us, amidst it all.

Here’s the quick rundown:

#1  A little less then a month ago, a drunk driver backed into Ruby, our less-then-a-year old Mariner, in a parking garage.  I am thankful that no one was hurt (but Ruby), the insurance ended up picking up the tab, and someone unfit for driving on a Sunday afternoon was no longer behind the wheel.

Ruby got a lift to the shop

#2  Then, the week after we got Ruby back from the repair shop, she wouldn’t start 2 mornings in a row.  We found out that the starter had gone out.  Grateful that the car is still under warranty, they came out and towed her to the dealership & fixed her up right.  Again no out of pocket cost to us, and she’s been running like a champ once again.

#3  Our little ol’ Corolla was broken into last night.  This morning, my neighbor found our car with doors and trunk wide open, and all our stuff combed over.  Thank God I had cleaned it out about 2 weeks ago!  When I went down to check it out, I could scarcely believe that nothing seems to have been taken.  Even though they went through the glovebox, the Garmin GPS and Radar Detector were still in the car!  Did they get caught in the act and run off?  Did my Rosary, WWJD pillow, prayer card, and Our Lady of the Highways visor clip give them a complex?  Was there really just nothing that they found valuable in it?  I don’t know.  But the car and its contents all seem to be OK, thankfully.

So we’ve now had our three incidents, and I’m hoping that we are square. Definitely feels like now is a good time as any to get some more protection on the cars, and I’m not talking insurance if you know what I mean.  I always have said prayers in my car, but I don’t know if I’ve said a blessing over my car.  I found one at www.catholic.org, and since I know I’m not the only one who needs it – here it is.  May our rides be blessed, my friends!

Blessing of an Automobile

We need this Priest to come out to our complex!

V. Our help is in the name of the Lord.
R. Who has made heaven and earth.
V. The Lord be with you.
R. And with your spirit.

Let us pray.

Lend a willing ear, Lord God, to our prayers, and bless this vehicle with Your holy right hand. Direct Your holy angels to accompany it, that they may free those who ride in it from all dangers, and always guard them. And just as by Your deacon Philip You gave faith and grace to the man of Ethiopia as he sat in his chariot reading the Sacred Word, so, point out to Your servants the way of salvation. Grant that, aided by Your grace, and with their hearts set on good works, they may, after all the joys and sorrows of this journey through life, merit to receive eternal joys, through Christ our Lord.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

