5 Things That Make Life Easier

I love Fridays.  It is my day out of the office, intended for me to pursue my own endeavors – especially writing.  I’m using my neglected Blog to warm up the ol’ writing juices.

We’re all just too busy.  So any effort to simplify life is a welcome one, right? Here are 5 random things that make my life easier, in no particular order.

1) My Grocery IQ Phone App

Grocery IQ

Grocery IQ Screen Shots

Gone are the days of keeping a pad of paper on the kitchen counter to jot down something we’ve just run out of, or ingredients needed for something we’re going to cook.  No need for my husband and I to text back and forth Grocery List items either.  Grocery IQ is an app that allows us to keep and share one central grocery and/or shopping list.  If I just ran out of milk, I can either scan the barcode with my phone, manually type in “milk”, or pull it up on my favorites list if I have previously saved it there.  I like that it automatically breaks the list down into categories like “Dairy, Eggs, and Cheese” or “Spices and Baking”, so your list is already organized like the store set-up, to help you get through your shopping faster.  It is really convenient that we can both add or delete things to the same list from both our phones.  It also features coupons & savings card deals.  Grocery IQ definitely streamlines something that we do every week.

Mr Clean Magic Reach

2) My Mr. Clean Magic Reach

I used to use a scrub brush and a sponge to clean the tub and shower.  Ugh. Then I upgraded to some type of Dollar General extending pole shower cleaner thingy.  That extending pole gradually no longer wanted to lock, and would slide back.  Uncool.  My hubby then introduced me to Mr. Clean and his Magic Reach bathroom cleaning tool.  We have a good thing going now. The pole extends and the latch really makes it lock, instead of just twisting and untwisting a part of the pole that all too easily loosens itself as you scrub. The head is in the shape of a football, has some give to it, and swivels, so its not a square or rectangle that can’t reach clean the corners.  Just slip a cleansing pad or rag over it (disposable = easy), and it even has a place to tuck that in, and clean away.  A part of the handle even extends to create a latch that you can use to hang it.  It’s a smart design, and makes cleaning the shower easier, especially considering that I no longer need to woefully stand in the tub to clean the tiles.

Coffee maker

The Cuisinart Grind and Brew is a Champ

3.  My Grind & Brew Coffee Maker

I’m not going to deny that we are coffee snobs.  It’s hard to go back to pre-ground coffee after enjoying a freshly ground cup o’ Joe. But to go through the grinding and coffee prep every morning before work, yeah right! So one of our favorite wedding gifts and kitchen appliances is the coffee maker that we registered for – The Cuisinart Grind and Brew Coffee Maker.  Yes friends, it automatically grinds the coffee then brews it! It can be programmed or just produce a lovely caffeinated beverage on demand.  No need for a paper coffee filter either, since it has a permanent filter basket.  And with the built-in charcoal water filter, you are able to obtain good water for brewing. All impurities are removed thanks to this machine.  It also has an automatic shut-off feature, so no coming home to a burned off pot of mess.  It’s not cheap, averaging around $99, but with a limited 3-year warranty and good quality, its great for coffee lovers! (*We don’t own the one with the thermal pot as pictured here – but that’d be even sweeter!)

RL Classic Sample Screen

4.  My RL Classic Phone App

I’ve limited myself to sharing only one more App, so that its not all about my iPhone 🙂  If you’re like me, shopping feels more like a contest on scoring the best prices and deals. It is so irritating to overpay unnecessarily for something.  This handy app on your phone helps prevent that.  By scanning the barcode of an item or typing it into the search box, it instantly brings up price comparisons for that product, both online and in local stores. It also shows product reviews.  For smart shoppers, it is a life-saver!

Downy Wrinkle Releaser = No Ironing

5.  My Downy Wrinkle Releaser

Some people like to iron everything.  I am not one of those people.  If you are like me, then welcome to the world of “spray, tug, and smooth” any time you need to quickly get wrinkles out. That’s right – no iron needed! Downy Wrinkle Releaser is a spray that smoothes your wrinkly clothes out in seconds by relaxing the fibers to help release wrinkles. It doesn’t have an overly perfumey smell either.  This is awesome for when you travel too!  It will take several minutes for your clothes to dry after you spray, so give it a bit of time to do so before you need to get dressed, FYI.

Hopefully you may have discovered a new trick to make your life easier, or you have one to share with me – please do!  I don’t get paid to plug any products, so these are all things I’ve discovered and use in everyday life that really do help.  So feel free to use, repeat, and enjoy!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

