My Favorite Prayer

In her own handwriting, the prayer of St. Teresa of Avila

Shuffling through some of my stowed away things while doing some project work, I rediscovered this gem.  This postcard purchase dates back to 1997, the spring I spent in the Austria study-abroad program, whilst out happily galavanting around the other side of the world.

St. Teresa of Avila was a Carmelite Nun of the 16th century Spain.  In her early years little T showed a real backbone for the Faith from as early as 5-years-old [hit up that link for more on her story.]  Then she put her folks through some real typical teenage rebellion years.  Take heart, Dads who think that sending your daughter away to a Convent will solve everything:  In this case, it not only worked but also cranked out an amazing Saint!

It looks like I now have a powerful new intercessor that meshes well with me, as she is the Patroness of not only headache sufferers (I’ve suffered with Migraines since Junior High School), but also Spanish Catholic Writers.  I wonder if she would adopt a Hungry-Mexican writer?  Hmm, worth praying for a shot at least…

Reflecting on this, it really is an exquisite prayer.  Simple yet profound; full of hope; directing all things back to total trust in Our Father God.  I would expect nothing less then this from one of the three female Doctors of the Church. This card shows the prayer written in St. Teresa’s own handwriting. You may have noticed it’s in Spanish as well, which makes sense since she was born in the province of Avila in Spain.

Take this prayer with you into your day.  May it help you rise above the challenges you may face, the unkind words that may be spoken to you, the busy coldness of the world rushing around you, the things weighing on your mind…  In short, may it lift you up to the God who loves you.

The translation is as follows:

Let nothing disturb you,
Let nothing frighten you,
All things pass away:
God never changes.
Patience obtains all things.
He who has God
Finds he lacks nothing;
God alone suffices.
-St. Teresa of Avila
Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “My Favorite Prayer

  1. Sefanit Mekonnen says:

    I LOVE this prayer! Have you heard the song by Bob and Jennifer Rice? They put this prayer to song – it’s so beautiful!

    Like

    • Lisa says:

      Yes, a real keeper as far as prayers go. No, I haven’t heard the song by Bob & Jen – but I want to! Do you have the recording? Hook me up, Sistah!

      Like

  2. Karla says:

    I too love this prayer, I will find my way to Avila while in Spain and pray for you too!

    Like

  3. Diane says:

    Thank you very much for that handwriting sample. It has helped me identify handwriting printed on the cover of a journal, which I had assumed was hers.

    Like

  4. Jasper says:

    Hello. I want to ask permission to print this one so that I can frame it and put it inside my room. St. Teresa of Avila is one of my favorite saints.

    Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

