The Power of Prayer

Day 5: St. Therese Novena

Day 5: St. Therese Novena

We are on Day 5 of the Novena, friends.  Today I pass along St. Therese’s reflection on the Power of Prayer…

The power of prayer is really tremendous.  It makes one like a queen who can approach the king at any time and get whatever she asks for:  To be sure of an answer, there is no need to recite from a book a formula composed for the occasion.  If there were, I should have to be pitied.

Though I’m quite unworthy, I love to say the Divine Office every day, but apart from that I cannot bring myself to hunt through books for beautiful prayers.  There are so many of them that I get a headache.  Besides, each prayer seems lovelier than the next.  I cannot possibly say them all and do not know which to choose.  I behave like children who cannot read:  I tell God very simply what I want, and he always understands.

For me, prayer is an upward leap of the heart, an untroubled glance toward heaven, a cry of gratitude and love which I utter from the depths of sorrow as well as from the heights of joy.  It has a supernatural grandeur that expands the soul and unites it with God.

AMEN!

Leave a Reply

